ASP logo American Society of Primatologists
Home Page Education Conservation Research
Society Meetings Grants Links
Previous Page

Distinguished Primatologist Award Winners

The Distinguished Primatologist Award honors a primatologist who has had an outstanding career and made significant contributions to the field. Nominations must be in writing and must include a vitae and a narrative that describes the nature and extent of the nominee's contribution to primatology. Nominations must also include at least two letters of support submitted on behalf of the nominee. The recipient is presented a plaque, a $500 honorarium, travel expenses to the next ASP meeting, and an invitation to deliver the Distinguished Primatologist Address (Featured Speaker) at the next meeting of the Society.

  • Dr. Stephen Suomi, NICHD, Poolesville, MD -- 2009

  • Dr. Leanne Nash, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ -- 2008

  • Dr. Patricia Wright, State University of New York, Stony Brook, NY -- 2007

  • Dr. Jeanne Altman, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey -- 2006

  • Dr. Duane Rumbaugh, Great Ape Trust Research Center, Des Moines, Iowa -- 2005

  • Dr. Gene Sackett, University of Washington, Seattle -- 2004

  • Dr. Donald G. Lindburg, San Diego Zoo -- 2003

  • Dr. Andrew G. Hendrickx, University of California, Davis -- 2002

  • Dr. Irwin Bernstein, University of Georgia -- 2001

  • Dr. W. Richard Dukelow, Michigan State University -- 1998

  • Dr. Orville Smith, University of Washington, Seattle -- 1996

  • Dr. Charles Southwick, University of Colorado, Boulder -- 1994

  • Dr. Philip Hershkovitz, The Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois -- 1991

  • Dr. William A. Mason, University of California, Davis -- 1989

Modified: 3 October 2009

Home | Education | Conservation | Research | Society | Meetings | Grants | Links