ASP logo American Society of Primatologists
Home Page Education Conservation Research
Society Meetings Grants Links
Previous Page

Distinguished Service Award Winners

This award is not presented on any regular basis but is given sporadically to deserving individuals who have contributed long-term service to the Society. Nominations should include at least one letter of support in addition to the nomination letter describing the nominee's contributions. Awardees are given a plaque.

  • Dr. Joseph M. Erwin, Foundation for Comparative and Conservation Biology -- 2008 for significant contributions to the American Society of Primatologists.

  • Edgar Davila, Chief census taker at Cayo Santiago and Noel Rowe, author of The Pictorial Guide to the Living Primates and founder of Primate Conservation, Inc. -- 2007.

  • Jackie Pritchard, Director, Primate Information Center, Washington National Primate Research Center -- 2003.

  • Larry Jacobsen, Librarian, Wisconsin Regional Primate Research Center, Madison -- 1997 for significant contribution to the field of primatology and his pioneering efforts to disseminate information worldwide.

  • Judith Schrier, Brown University -- 1996 for longstanding committment to the publication of Laboratory Primate Newsletter

  • Dr. Richard Harrison, Tulane Regional Primate Research Center, Covington -- 1994 for service as the Historian of the American Society of Primatologists.

  • Dr. Leo A. Whitehair, Director, Comparative Medicine Program, National Center for Research Resources, NIH, Washington -- 1994 for outstanding support of primate research during a lengthy career at the Animal Resources Branch/Comparative Medicine Program.

Modified: 3 October 2009

Home | Education | Conservation | Research | Society | Meetings | Grants | Links