ASP logo American Society of Primatologists
Home Page Education Conservation Research
Society Meetings Grants Links
Previous Page

Burroughs Wellcome Fund - American Society of Primatologists

Young Investigator Award

7 November, 2002

I am pleased to announce that Dr. Karen Bales has been selected as the first recipient of the Burroughs-Wellcome / American Society of Primatologists Young Investigator Award. Dr. Bales, currently at the University of Illinois - Chicago, will conduct a series of projects on urocortins, a newly discovered class of neuropeptides related to corticotropin releasing factor (CRF) and hence potentially a critical player in the stress system. The work will be conducted at Emory University School of Medicine. The ASP extends its wishes for continued career success to all of the well qualified applicants. Many thanks to the selection committee for their work on this important task (Steve Schapiro, Chair; Dee Higley, Nancy Caine, John Capitanio, and Marilyn Norconk).

Jeff French, President, ASP

Revised: 22 December 2002

Home | Education | Conservation | Research | Society | Meetings | Grants | Links