Senior Research Award Winners

This award was originally the Senior Biology and Conservation Award that was given by the Conservation Committee. It became an A&R award at the 1999 meeting and was renamed the Senior Research Award in 2001. This award honors individuals who, because of their dedication to their profession and their productivity, have made significant contributions to research activities supporting or enhancing knowledge relevant to primatology. Such contributions could take place in laboratories, the field, or in zoological gardens. The award is reserved for those who have not received the highest degree offered in their field (e.g., Ph.D., M.D., D.V.M.) but are deserving of the Society's recognition for their achievements. Nominations must include a nominating letter and two supporting letters indicating the contributions of the individual, along with a narrative describing the impact on the field. Nominees need not be members of the ASP to be considered. The recipient receives a plaque and a $500 honorarium.

  • Susan Lambeth Pavonetti -- 2015
  • John Kelley -- 2012
  • Nenny Babo -- 2009
  • Nancy Czekala-Gruber and Jeremy Mallinson -- 1997
  • Alexander Pearl -- 1996
  • Dehua Vang -- 1995
  • Hilali Matame -- 1994
  • Robin Kingston -- 1993
  • Gerry Ruppenthal -- 1991
  • Chuck Darsono -- 1990