Conservation Award Recipients

Since 1989, the American Society of Primatologists has provided funding in support of research- and education-based projects aimed at effecting primate conservation. Riley & Zak (2015) developed and administered a survey to former grant recipients from the years 1997–2012 to assess the conservation impact of ASP funded projects. The results highlight the importance of garnering local support for primate conservation projects, sustaining a long-term research presence at field sites, clearly defining terms used in monitoring and evaluation, building evaluation into the design of primate conservation projects, and encouraging and enabling researchers to share both successes and failures. You can read more about the impact of the ASP Conservation Small grant program with complimentary access to the Riley & Zak paper.
2017 2016 2015 2014 2013
2012 2011 2010 2009 2008
2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
2002 2001 2000 1999 1998

Conservation Award Winners for 1997

Subscription Awards for the American Journal Of Primatology

  • Julio Cesar Bicca-Marques
  • Dr. Mewa Singh
  • Dr. Arun Srivastava
  • and sixteen subscriptions were continued for individuals in habitat countries where primate literature is scarce.

Senior Biology And Conservation Award ($500 Honorarium)

  • Nancy Czekala-Gruber of San Diego, California for her extensive work in the reproductive biology of primates which has provided important and fundamental contributions in the area of primate conservation biology.

  • Jeremy J. C. Mallinson of Great Britain for having devoted three and a half decades to the development of meaningful conservation strategies of the wildlife preservation trusts and the role of modern zoos in the conservation of primates worldwide.

Conservation Award ($500)

  • Juan Carlos Serio Silva of Mexico for his efforts to preserve the habitats and primates of Mexico through his field research, teaching, and outreach efforts.

Small Grants ($500 Each)

  • Kimberley A. Phillips of Hiram College in Ohio, [ASP Bulletin Dec 1998, Vol 22(4) p. 5], for the conservation of capuchin and howler monkeys in Trinidad. ($750.00)

  • Zhaoyuan Li of China, [ASP Bulletin Jun 1999, Vol 23(2) p. 6], for the impact of habitat fragmentation on the behavior and social structure of the white-headed langur, Presbytis leucocephalus, in China. ($1000.00)

  • Dra. Rondang S. E. Siregar of Indonesia for assessing the behavioral competence of rehabilitant orangutans reintroduced to the Meratus Forest, East Kalimantan. ($986.30)

  • Joanna E. Lambert of the University of Florida at Gainesville, [ASP Bulletin Sep 1998, Vol 22(3) p. 107], for the status of red colobus (Procolobus badius) populations in regenerating areas of Kibale National Park, Uganda. ($750.00)

  • Julio Cesar Bicca-Marques of the University of Illinois at Urbana, [ASP Bulletin Sep 1998, Vol 22(3) p. 9], for the cognitive aspects of tamarin foraging decisions. ($750.00)